Professional Development 


GBTA provides access to a global set of specialised tools, resources, information, and services designed specifically to address the demanding needs of business travel professionals.


Expand your thinking and your industry knowledge with unparalleled business travel education from GBTA.


GBTA acknowledges individuals who display dedication and commitment to improving their company's travel program with a series of awards.


We are creating new and improved awards in 2015. We look forward to announcing the details soon.


Professional Travel Manager of the Year

The GBTA AUS/NZ Professional Travel Manager of the Year is aimed at travel professionals who have made a significant contribution to the effective operation and management of travel administration, and who can demonstrate a consistently outstanding level of quality operation through the implementation of forward thinking strategies and best practice for travel within their organisation.


Hall of Fame

2013 - Philip Hand, Commonwealth Bank

2012 - Sonya Lowry, Linc Energy

2011 - Megan Lynch, Russell Mineral Group

2010 - Andrew McGregor, Department of Public Works, Queensland Government

2009 - Liz Newberry, University of Southern Queensland

2008 - Mario Kalogiannis, ANZ Bank

2007 - Anne Hennessy, University of Western Sydney

2006 - Melinda Lalor, Aristocrat Leisure

2005 - Mick Lavers, Raytheon Australia

2004 - Fleur Dougan, Parmalat

2003 - Murray Harris, Origin Energy

2002 - Genevieve Sulway, Westpac Banking Corporation

2001 - Bruce Barker, Mincom Australia

2000 - Christine Telfer, Australian Federal Police

1999 - Charles Oakenfull, Department of Defence

1998 - Ros Smith, Rio Tinto

1997 - Sally Addison, Monash University



Sonya Lowry (middle), Global Travel Manager, Linc Energy 



“Winning the Excellence Awards for sound business practices and continually pushing the limits of existing systems and strategies in achieving an integrated ‘holistic’ solution was an unexpected reward in the most challenging years of my career. Never stop asking the hard questions.” Anne Hennessy—University of Western Sydney, 2007 Excellence Award Winner

“Winning the Excellence Awards is recognition of the efforts and commitment of the team at Aristocrat Leisure in pursuing and achieving leading practice global travel management”

Melinda Lalor – Aristocrat Leisure, 2006 Excellence Award Winner


“Winning the award also allowed me to gain management support for further advancement in 2010. The award has also given me recognition amongst my peers and within my organisation.”

Liz Newberry - University of Southern Queensland, 20009 Excellence Award Winner


“Whilst its been ten years since the AFP won the Excellence award, it was only the beginning of our journey to achieve better practice in travel management.  If you have a good story to tell, then enter for the award” Chris Telfer - Australian Federal Police, 2000 Excellence Awards Winner



Project ICARUS

This is a program led by and targeted primarily at national and international travel buyers, suppliers and intermediaries who wish to integrate sustainability into the way they deliver travel and meetings programs, products and services.


Hall of Fame

2013 - Sabre Pacific

2012 - Royal on the Park Brisbane (Responsible Travel Management Award, Hotel Sustainability)
2011 - Royal on the Park Brisbane (Responsible Travel Management Award, Hotel Sustainability)



James Quinlan, General Manager Marketing & Service Delivery, Sabre Pacific





Mike Kabo Scholarship

The GBTA Foundation created this scholarship in honor and memory of Mike Kabo, a good friend and leader in the business travel industry.


Hall of Fame

2012 - Sonya Lowry, Linc Energy

2008 - Christine Telfer, Australian Federal Police

2007 - Kate Pritchett, University of Sydney